Databases

Why use databases?

With millions of websites online, it can be difficult to determine which ones are credible and which ones are out-of-date, inaccurate or biased.  Our subscription databases are professionally researched and maintained to provide accurate, up to date information during each use.

Access to all databases is available to anyone who is inside the library, including wireless users.

Databases that can be accessed outside the library have a "Remote" link and require a library card.

Click on the links under "Subject" to visit the library's webpage on resources about a particular topic.

SUBJECT DATABASE DESCRIPTION LIBRARY LINK REMOTE LINK USER NAME & PASSWORD
Auto

Chilton  Library

Repair instructions and wiring diagrams from the experts at Chilton.

In Library

Remote Library card number
Business Small Business Reference Center Forms, online books, articles and videos on most small business topics.

In Library

Remote

Library card number
Children Encyclopedia Britannica Interactive, multi-media learning material with one site for elementary students and one for middle school. In Library Remote First five digits of your library card number
Children Explora Full-text articles from magazines and other material for elementary children. In Library Remote Library card number
Genealogy Ancestry Library Edition Searchable census, birth, death, marriage and military records. In Library NA NA
Genealogy Heritage Quest Searchable census records and special Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records. In Library Remote Library card number
Interlibrary Loan FirstSearch Worldcat Search millions of items in libraries across the U.S., then submit a request to borrow if our library does not own a copy. In Library Remote Authorization No: 100137782
Password: First five digits of library card.
Languages Pronunciator

80 foreign langauge and ESL courses.

User Manual

Manual de Usuario

In Library Remote Use Library card number to make an account. 
Magazines Ebsco Host Full-text magazine & journal articles, including Consumer Reports. In Library Remote Library card number
Magazines Explora Public Library Search Full-text magazine & journal articles for high school students. In Library Remote  
Spanish Spanish Reference Center Enciclopedia Moderna for high school ages and up and Britannica Escolar Online for ages 6-12. In Library Remote First five digits of your library card number.

Teens

Explora Articles and other research material for Middle School students. In Library Remote Library card number

Thank you to the following organizations for sponsoring the library databases:

  • Stillwater Public Library Trust provides Foundation Directory Online Professional, Foundation Grant to Individuals Online, and Foundation Maps.
  • Oklahoma Department of Libraries provides FirstSearch Worldcat, Ebsco Host, Encyclopedia Britannica, Searchasaurus, and Spanish Reference Center.